Introductions…

“By starting you have overcome the hardest step. Not to say that all the other steps are drop-dead hard too, but hey, at least the first step is done.”
-Unknown

So it begins.

Welcome to this humble blog! Please pull up a chair if you haven’t already and make yourself at home. This place, first and foremost, is merely meant to be a place for practice, so although I will try my best to satisfy you dear reader with amazing insight and prose, please try to be kind if I trip up! ._. It is my hope through writing this to both hone my writing concerning anime as well as provide alternative coverage to shows that may not be as well-covered.

Let me introduce myself. I am Zanibas, RandomC IRC Regular….

“What else am I supposed to say…”


Ah! My anime background. The seeds were planted around 10 years ago when DBZ and Sailor Moon were at it’s peak, and Cartoon Network actually showed…cartoons! I remember fondly attending a birthday party and in result getting jealous of the birthday boy, who received a Sailor Moon DVD. However, it wasn’t until seven years ago that the seeds began to sprout. Back when BitTorrent seemed like incomprehensible and LimeWire downloading at 100kb/s was mindbending speed, I curiously searched for “anime”, in hopes of finding some DBZ/Sailor Moon action! (No, not that kind of action. Perverts. ;_;)

Instead, I found Love Hina. At the time, it was quite an intriguing plot for my young mind, learning for the first time what a harem was. After that came Google images to show me the cover of a Mahou Sensei Negima manga, and from there…another harem. By the time I finished that, I was already connected to my first anime forum, downloading Evangelion, and officially entered as a closet anime fan.

Now you have me. Yay? Yay! ^_^

Today, if you examined my anime habits, you’ll see that they usually fall into three categories.

  1. Romantic Love Comedy
  2. Thought-Provoking Drama
  3. Clannad. (Aka Key-Drama)
Although there are occasional exceptions to this categorization (as seen in the list above), my usual anime season consists of the three. If I’ve seen the show, I’d be glad to discuss it with you. If I haven’t seen the show, I’d be glad to try it out. I generally am not picky about the shows I choose: whatever catches my eye has 95% of the time satisfied me. Except for Ef. That show cured my insomnia. ef. Efffffffffffff–


Ignoring my illogical distaste for that show, everything else I find merit in. Taishou Yakyuu Musume? Loved it. Oreimo? Loved it, even Kirino. Mayoi Neko Overrun? Found merit in its randomness. BECK? Hate the voicing, but it was a good series. Being my optimistic self, it is VERY hard to please my tastes. You will never see me as the one flaming a series, because that’s just not me. Am I a pussy? Maybe….but remember, be nice! ;_; 

As of now the only anime blogs I pursue myself anime-wise are Random Curiosity and Sankaku Complex. They both end up balancing each other out, so I find it okay despite the latter’s extremes. I personally look to their writing styles to help improve my own! In one word and three stylings I describe them as: Badass.

However, since my favorite blog seems to be reeling for this season in order to control their workload, I’ve decided to pick up some shows they’ve omitted this season. I’ll talk more about this in the relevant post, but I plan on doing a defining format for this blog season.

Anyways, I hope that I am of good blogging material to suit your needs dear reader, and I hope our relationship as a reader-writer bond will grow! Please leave comments: nice ones always make my day and as of now, I will try replying to every one of them. Also leave suggestions at my email if you need a more one-on-one response.

I hope your stay here is a pleasant one! If you ‘d like to introduce yourself as well, don’t be shy and leave something in the comments!

Hajimemashite!

About Zanibas

I want to be a real blogger someday...but for now, I'll be content just writing about random anime ^_^.
This entry was posted in Scattered Curiosity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Introductions…

  1. Croosboy says:

    its nice to see that your starting a blog ^_^

Leave a Reply

