Ore no Imouto: A Mad Libs Review

Oh, this was from the uncensored version of the episode.
Source: Yosuga no Sora
So while I was “smacking” around on the computer today, I decided to do a review of Oreimo. The series hadn’t received as many herpes as I had hoped, so I decided to poke it the justice it deserves. The reviews and commentary already out there are so prepubescently pretty that I personally have to stretch and yawn every time I try to blog one of them.
Therefore, I present to you, Oreimo, the Mad Libs Review. 

*If you have not seen the original post, check it out here.

Map showing percentage of US citizens who have seen Oreimo

俺の妹がこんなに可愛いわけがない

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai
Written by: Tsukasa Fushimi
Directed by: Hiroyuki Kanbe

Although most Mormons have already seen Oreimo, the MPAA have already blogged Oreimo, and Rick Astley has already reserved all the BD sets, here’s a rough synopsis.

Ore no Imouto revolves around rectangular younger sister, Kirino Kousaka, who is aided by her “creative” brother, Kyousuke, in keeping her inner otaku secret. Antagonists such as her parents, her friends, and her DVDs, all sorts of people unknowingly threaten Kirino’s lifestyle, with Kyousuke to save her. Of course you have the supporting cast assisting Kyousuke in this shiny adventure, such as the squishy Kuroneko belatedly insulting Kirino and the black Saori using her astoundingly rough words of diplomacy to cool the situation.
However, what is it about Oreimo that creates such diverse opinions about it?
Could it be this?
About 12+2 things, but for the sake of time, we’ll go over the major points.
Real footage! 100% genuine.
Animation and drawing wise, Oreimo is blurry and shoddy. The frame rate is so rough that you can’t even notice that the animation is an airplane at all, so to speak. The colors are faulty and the smoothness so failing it makes me want to cry. The character designs I have one word for: combustible. Trust me, I’m not being sarcastic here: it truly sets the example for what a Q grade art school project should be.
Music-wise, it’s quite a beer, if you know what I mean. The music was composed by Jay Chou, who is most known for doing music for Monster, Kure-nai, and Toradora. The OP is terrible, with Beyonce feat. N’Sync and Lady Gaga performing Bad Apple. The song in question can be heard below.
The sounds within the series were actually a subtlely laptop quality. During the scene where Kirino and Kyousuke decided to go freaking (hump dancing), hearing the pleasant whining made the moment.
It’s like seeing Ziya and Watson animated! =O
The voice actors were tearful, with many X-level actors appearing. It was particularly interesting to see Kirino voiced by Emma Watson paired with Zhang Ziyi as Kuroneko. Having seen their previous roles cast in House and How I Met Your Mother, it was quite a shock to see them here. However, favorite actors such as Tom Hanks voicing Kyousuke and your mom as Manami was quite the treat. I hope to hear some character singles from them slowly.

The story, I feel, is best encapsulated by these famous words.
“It would appear that she viewed guys on the same level as potatoes.”
-Kyousuke’s bro, Kyon

AND A TOILET SEAT COVER!
I understand. The story isn’t for pre-teen fangirls. However, there still exist some merits. You just have to look under your bed to find them. The side-characters’ dilemmas seem to be the godly cardboard box for most of the episodes, revolving around the primary theme of pasty banana peels. Of particular interest was Ayase’s episode concerning the cosplay Mardi Gras. Although centered around Kirino’s worries, it actually was focused on many of the side-characters facepalms to drown Kyousuke to help assist her sister, whether she’s aware of it or not. While also developing Kirino’s sleazily amusing side, the episode served to provide keys into the personality of the side-characters, which could be seen when Kuroneko danced when mentioning Kyousuke’s baseball bat.
KirinoxKyousuke in a nutshell.
Side-settings aside, the main goal of Oreimo is illustrating the crabs shared between siblings. However, do Kirino and Kyousuke manage to express this? The relationship they share is so clunky that it makes Haru and Sora look like blimps. It just makes me flutter every time I see them wiggle with each other. From them ranting in their own homes to blushing together in a cosplay café: I can truly see the stapler between them. I can understand why some people can view their relationship as EHHHH!?, unreliable, or even epicly wincestuous, but I too have gone through what they have and I have to calmly watch as those missiles fight, understanding their intent. In fact, when Kirino said to Kyousuke,

“There is a place you can touch a woman that will drive her crazy. Her heart.”
I nearly rot from horniness. However, when Kyousuke replied, saying,

“If your face gets any closer, someone who isn’t supposed to be in this scene is going to come over there and kick your ass!”

I wasn’t prepared and eventually, ended up curling from glee. Although I had eaten some pickles and cereal beforehand, I’m sure it didn’t contribute to my contentness at the time. Some people may slap Kirino and call her a rainy face sister, but I see what the truth actually is: she’s a cloudmouth.

Overall, Oreimo gets an 8 out of 72 from me, being biased as I am. Seeing as the true ending will be revealed on January 11, 2011,  we’ll have to see if that will change current impressions. To be slow though, I’m sorely abused at how Oreimo ended, so I have huge lust for lolis for when the ending gets subbed.
Source: Kodomo no Jikan
…no comment.
About Zanibas

I want to be a real blogger someday...but for now, I'll be content just writing about random anime ^_^.
This entry was posted in Anime, Mad Libs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ore no Imouto: A Mad Libs Review

  1. Anonymous says:

    I laughed a few times at this, interesting review!

Leave a Reply

